. ~**~ © Caroline Gavin’s Rose in BLOOM

Standard

Lovely rose, Brilliant in bloom, Beautiful vision My heart to consume. Lord Jesus, may I be As one of these: Beautiful, fragrant Your heart to please. As the soft bud Emerging from earth, May I stretch upward To claim rebirth. As the petals Colorful and bright, May my beauty grow From Your luminous Light. As the pattern Of the petals ‘round, May I circle about You, Your love to abound. As the fragrance of roses Aromatic and sweet, May my prayers rise to You Lovely incense to greet. As roses intertwine, One next to another, May my life bring joy To sister and brother. As amidst the beauty Of the rose is the thorn, May I recall Your agony, The bitter Cross borne. As the bloom withers, As the petals do fall, May I remember Dust we are all. As the rose petals With earth become one, May I recall the promise Of You, God’s Son. Eternal life we find When to ourselves we die; We become one with You When flesh we crucify. ~**~ © Caroline Gavin

Leave a Reply

